We present three very different awards to our members over the course of the year.

The Restoration Award

The Restoration Award, sponsored by Sotheby's, was launched in 2008. It recognises and celebrates the remarkable restoration work continually being undertaken by our member houses. Houses submit their own projects and they are judged by a team of experts according to the way in which they respect, and are in sympathy with, the historic quality of the building.

The 2017 winner was Glynde Place in East Sussex.

The Garden of the Year Award

This award, sponsored by Christie's has been presented annually since 1984. It is designed to recognise the importance of some of the country’s most spectacular gardens with outstanding horticultural and public appeal. Members vote for their favourite gardens based on enjoyment of their visit.

The 2017 winner was Helmingham Hall in Suffolk.

The Frances Garnham Award

Our newest award, launched in 2015, awards a house or garden with a particularly innovative approach to education or community engagement work. The award is given by the Historic Houses Learning Advisory Panel.

The 2017 winner was Clytha Park in Monmonthshire.